Young Tasmanian Writers' Prize

A short fiction competition open to all Tasmanians enrolled in Years 7-12.
Run in partnership with the Tasmanian Association for the Teaching of English (TATE)

Entries for Young Tasmanian Writers' Prize 2020 have now closed.

2020 Judges

Junior and Senior Sections: Chris Gallagher

Chris has a thirty-year career as an arts manager, curator and practitioner, most recently in the role of Director of the Tasmanian Writers Centre and the Tasmanian Writers and Readers Festival  from 2008-2017. She is a trained English teacher and a producer for television documentary and drama. In 2014 she received an Asia Link Residency to work in New Delhi for the Jaipur Literature Festival. She was the Founding Director of the Australian Script Centre and has served on many national and intrastate arts boards.

The Peter Sharp Memorial Award: Penny Lane

After a teaching career in Hobart, Canberra and Sydney, during which she wrote two books about teaching, Penny turned to writing short stories and more recently poetry, and has won several awards for both stories and poems. She was a finalist in the 2017 Newcastle Poetry Prize, and most recently won first and third prizes in the free verse section of the 2019-20 Sutherland Shire Literary Competition. She has published a Kindle e-book, Winning Writing: What Works For Me, about her short story writing.